News & Events

The Amazon Unbound Virtual Book Tour

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be “appearing” around the country to talk about Amazon Unbound, Jeff Bezos, and all the beautiful awkwardness that comes with writing and promoting a book from my garage during a pandemic. Please join me at an upcoming event, ask questions, and tell me how you feel about Amazon and…
Read More

How Jeff Bezos Beat the Tabloids

The first excerpts from Amazon Unbound are out and on the cover of Bloomberg Businessweek! It’s a selection from Chapter 13, Complexifiers, on the saga that enveloped Jeff Bezos and Amazon in late 2018 and early 2019. It’s a tale that involves a scheming Hollywood manager, desperate tabloid newspaper editors, and spurious claims of political intrigue and international espionage. It’s also a look into Jeff Bezos’s mind and how he thinks unconventionally and always manages to come out on top. As my friend Max tweeted, “You come at the Jeff, you better not miss.” Head to the BW website to check it out.

The Amazon Unbound Virtual Book Tour

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be “appearing” around the country to talk about Amazon Unbound, Jeff Bezos, and all the beautiful awkwardness that comes with writing and promoting a book from my garage during a pandemic. Please join me at an upcoming event, ask questions, and tell me how you feel about Amazon and the big tech companies that are changing our society. I’ll also be signing copies of the book purchased from my local independent bookseller, Book Passage.

Tuesday, May 11th, 3:00 p.m. PST / 6:00 p.m. EST.
Brad Stone at the World Affairs Council of Greater Houston
Click here for tickets.

Wednesday, May 12th, 4:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. EST.
Computer History Museum
Amazon’s Rise as a Global Empire. Brad Stone in conversation with Bloomberg’s Emily Chang.
Click here to register.

Wednesday, May 12th, 5:30 p.m. PST / 8:30 p.m. EST.
Clubhouse
Brad Stone in conversation with Wired’s Editor at Large, Steven Levy.
Click here for more information.

Thursday, May 13th, 6:00 p.m. PST / 9:00 p.m. EST.
Town Hall Seattle
Brad Stone with New York Times journalist Karen Weise, A Portrait of the Evolution of Jeff Bezos and Amazon.
Click here to buy tickets.

Friday, May 14th, 12:00 p.m. PST / 3:00 p.m. EST.
Twitter Spaces with @KurtWagner8
Bloomberg social media reporter Kurt Wagner hosts Brad Stone and a conversation about Amazon’s power.

Monday, May 17th, 6:00 p.m. PST / 9:00 p.m. EST.
Live Talks Los Angeles
Brad Stone in conversation with author and Vanity Fair journalist Nick Bilton.
Click here to register.

Friday, May 21st, 10:00 a.m. PST / 1:00 p.m. EST.
Betaworks Studios
Brad Stone in conversation with Ruzwana Bashir – “Amazon’s Unprecedented Growth.”
Click here to register.

Tuesday, May 25th, 6:00 p.m. PST / 9:00 p.m. EST.
The Commonwealth Club
Brad Stone in conversation with “No Filter: the Inside Story of Instagram” author Sarah Frier.
Click here to buy tickets.

Brad Stone, “Amazon’s Secret Sauce”

Author of “The Everything Store”, Brad Stone sits down with Bloomberg’s Shira Ovide to discuss what makes Amazon tick. This conversation was recorded on December 4, 2018 at the CB Insights TRANSFORM conference.

Simon & Schuster to Publish Brad Stone’s New Book on Amazon

NEW YORK, March 14—Simon & Schuster will publish bestselling author and renowned journalist Brad Stone’s AMAZON UNBOUND, it was announced today. Publication date is scheduled for fall 2021.

In 2013 Stone published The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon, which chronicled the company’s ascension from fledging startup to one of the most successful retailers of all time. A New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller, the book received rapturous reviews and won the 2013 Financial Times/Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award.

AMAZON UNBOUND will pick up where The Everything Store left off. Much has changed in the past six years. The world has been introduced to Alexa, which reshaped the way we interact with technology. Jeff Bezos has become the richest person on the planet and the subject of intense interest from the tabloids, while Amazon has become more than just a retailer, impacting fields as varied as AI, cloud computing, the grocery business, film and TV, and more. Amazon’s expansion into China and India has made the company into a truly global force to be reckoned with. With characteristic rigor, insight and wit, Stone will explore the company’s ongoing successes and failures and deconstruct its strategies for growth, and in doing so pose the ultimate question: Is Amazon good for us?

Read more at Simon & Schuster

LinkedIn Speaker Series: Brad Stone

In the spirit of iconic Silicon Valley renegades like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, another generation of entrepreneurs is using technology to upend convention and disrupt entire industries. These are the upstarts, idiosyncratic founders with limitless drive and an abundance of self-confidence.

The Upstarts is the definitive story of Uber and Airbnb, two new titans of business and a dawning age of tenacity, conflict, and wealth. Brad Stone, Senior Executive Editor of Global Technology at Bloomberg News and the author of the New York Times bestseller “The Everything Store,” illuminates the smart, driven, and often comically-flawed people who are upending industries and changing the way we all live and work.

The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon | Brad Stone | Talks at Google

THE EVERYTHING STORE is the definitive story of Amazon.com, one of the most successful companies in the world, and of its driven, brilliant founder, Jeff Bezos. Amazon.com started off delivering books through the mail. But its visionary founder, Jeff Bezos, wasn’t content with being a bookseller. He wanted Amazon to become the everything store, offering limitless selection and seductive convenience at disruptively low prices. To do so, he developed a corporate culture of relentless ambition and secrecy that’s never been cracked. Until now.

Brad Stone enjoyed unprecedented access to current and former Amazon employees and Bezos family members, giving readers the first in-depth, fly-on-the-wall account of life at Amazon. According to Walter Isaacson, author of Steve Jobs, “Jeff Bezos is one of the most visionary, focused, and tenacious innovators of our era, and like Steve Jobs he transforms and invents industries.

Brad Stone captures his passion and brilliance in this well-reported and compelling narrative.” Brad Stone has covered technology in Silicon Valley for over 14 years, with publications such as Newsweek, The New York Times, and Bloomberg Businessweek.